Christian Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• Focus on the Family

Strengthening families through biblical principles.

Focus on the Family addresses the use of biblical principles in parenting and marriage to strengthen the family.

• Guest, Join Papa Zoom today for some uplifting biblical encouragement! --> Daily Verses
  • The Gospel of Jesus Christ

Heard of "The Gospel"? Want to know more?

There is salvation in no other, for there is not another name under heaven having been given among men, by which it behooves us to be saved."

Bible Study Thou shalt not kill?

Donations

Total amount
$1,592.00
Goal
$5,080.00

Papa Zoom

CF Ambassador
I'd like to take a closer look at how to view this particular verse: Exodus 20:13

I'm no expert but I am studied. I read a lot and my undergraduate work was done at a Christian college where we were required to take a full two years of Bible courses. I've done a lot of thinking over the years about how we understand this collection of books we call God's word (which I believe it is).

The word "kill" is mistranslated. It means murder. That fact is a slam dunk. But there is a bigger issue at hand. I like to put it this way (and I'm hoping to get feedback on what I'm about to say - positive or negative - in the form of discussion - not debate). That's per the rules.

The Bible you hold does not contain the words from God. (ok, that sounds odd but the words in the Bible you hold are translations of copies of copies etc AND there are often not words or concepts that will translate word for word. So, when you read a word in say the NKJV or the RSV or KJV or ESV, you can't say, "See, God said it right here!!!" and then point to some passage.